Metohi of Achaea is a village in a plain with 349 inhabitants in the municipality of West Achaea of the prefecture of Achaea. It is located 18km west of Kato Achaïa, on the borders of the prefectures of Elis and Achaea and is only 4.8km from the Araksos airport.
It is not known when the village was first inhabited, but it has been a “metohi” (a land) of the Mega Speleon monastery since the byzantine period, hence its name. Actually, it is recorded as a “metohi” of the Mega Speleon monastery in a Venesian census of 1700. The village has three churches: one is dedicated to the patron saint Agios Nikolaos, the second one is a small church dedicated to Agios Petros and the third is dedicated to Koimisi Theotokos (the Dormition of Mother of God). Near the village there are many must-see tourist sights such as the forest of Strofylia, which is the biggest coastal pine forest in Greece; the lake-marsh of Lamia, the lagoon Prokopos, the mycenean Dymaean Wall and the folklore and cultural heritage museum (once, the summer residence of the ex-king of Greece). There is also the beautiful beach of Kalogria with its immense stretch of sand and the shallow crystal clear waters.